NO MORE Earmarks

Yesterday, I suggested the GOP mount a campaign to make the party earmark free as a way to begin to indicate they are serious about returning to principles of limited government. Whether the GOP does this as a party or not, any candidate who does not take the pledge does not deserve your vote. It is a small step, but we need to start somewhere, and with Tea Party protests growing in number it is timely.

Here‘s a list from the Club for Growth of legislators who have sworn off earmarks.

Swearing Off Pork in 2009

Earlier this year, the Club contacted every congressional office to find out who’s swearing off earmarks for 2009. We expect more to come, but for right now, here are the brave lawmakers who aren’t engaging in the awful pork process this year. …

HOUSE (25)*
John Boehner(R-OH-08)
Eric Cantor (R-VA-07)
John Campbell (R-CA-48)
Devin Nunes (R-CA-21)
Jeff Flake (R-AZ-06)
Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA-03)
John Kline (R-MN-02)
Mike McCaul (R-TX-10)
Walter Jones (R-NC-03)
Jeb Hensarling (R-TX-05)
Patrick McHenry (R-NC-10)
Virginia Foxx (R-NC-05)
Dan Burton (R-IN-05)
Tom Price (R-GA-06)
John Shadegg (R-AZ-03)
Paul Ryan (R-WI-01)
Joe Pitts (R-PA-16)
Tom McClintock (R-CA-04)
Mike Coffman (R-CO-06)
Duncan Hunter (R-CA-52)
Tom Rooney (R-FL-16)
Lynn Jenkins (R-KS-02)
Leonard Lance (R-NJ-07)
Mike Pence (R-IN-06)
Jason Chaffetz (R-UT-03)

Jim DeMint (R-SC)
Tom Coburn (R-OK)
Russ Feingold (D-WI)
Claire McCaskill (D-MO)
Richard Burr (R-NC)
John McCain (R-AZ)

In 2008‘s complete list there were 14 more members of the House and 1 more Senator: Barack Obama. As soon as he was president he broke that pledge, See No Earmarks, by redefining “earmark.” He applied the same trick while having his name removed from an earmark in the Omnibus Spending Bill carried over from 2008. That earmark was just 1 of over 8,500 in the bill.

The Club for Growth indicates the 2009 “no earmark” list is still being built. I will point out that in 2008 only 2 Michigan House members (and, obviously, no Senators) made the list. I will be urging Thaddeus McCotter (11th District) and Dave Camp (4th District) to renew their pledge if they have not. You can do the same at the links.

If you are in Michigan’s 8th Congressional district, as am I, you can reach Congressman Mike Rogers here. Urge him to sign up. Locally, I think Mark Schauer‘s constituents might want to weigh in, too.

Other resources:

Freedom Works Earmark Pledge

The only problem with this is that it specifies 2009. The pledge should be permanent.

The Club for Growth.
Free membership. Join it. It’s their list above.

Earmark Watch
Experimental distributed research project. Free membership. Includes 2008 data, join up and maybe they’ll add 2009.

Taxpayers for Common Sense

Download a spreadsheet listing 2009 earmarks.